beauty / Makeup

Makeup Monday


Makeup is forever changing, right? I mean every month a new product is released and advertised for us to try. It’s most girls staple to their every day lives but we all have our own preferences about what makeup we wear. I tend to stick with my favorites but when something new comes out I’m always up for trying a new product. I am a firm believer in NOT spending a lot of money on makeup. I went to a taping of ’30 Minute Meals’ with Rachael Ray years ago and met her makeup artist who had incredible skin and her makeup was fabulous. We were talking and she said that she buys all her makeup at Walgreens or any drug store. I truly believe that you can get the same look as the stars for less. I have always purchased my makeup at the drug store and will never go into a department store for it (except for a really special occasion).

P_Face_Foundation_ColorStaySoftflexNormal.ashx

Foundation

I have tried multiple foundations over the years but I really gravitate towards liquid foundation. Although it’s more messy than powder I think it stays on better and provides better coverage. With that being said, some foundations are way too oily and come off too easily. I work in New York and I need something that will stay on all day. Ever since I tried Revlon’s ColorStay Makeup with SoftPlex my makeup has stayed on all day and looked just as good after a long day of work, as when I put it on in the morning. For $12.99 you can’t go wrong! I hope they never stop making this product because it is THAT good. If you are looking for a great product, that is not oily, light, and stays on all day try this one.

Eyeliner

P_Eyes_Eyeliner_ColorStayLiquidLiner.ashx

Another must have product for me is eyeliner. I have about four of them (one in my purse, one at home, one in the car, and an extra one just in case I lose one). I can’t be without my eyeliner! I have tried many over the years and fell in love with this RevlonColorStay Liquid Eyeliner. I get ‘Blackest Black’ and it’s absolutely perfect. It stays on all day, doesn’t smudge easily even if you touch your eye, and doesn’t burn if it does get into your eye. I have tried pencils, as well as other liquid eyeliners but this product is my all time favorite. The brush is awesome too because it’s just the right thickness (without being too thin or too thick). You can obviously put more on if you’re going out for the night and put on less for work.

Mascara

VEX-falsies-flared_model-shot_095954

I am very picky about mascara because a lot of them are not smooth and cause clumping. I started using Maybelline Volum’ Express the Falsie’s Flared in very black. It is a great product that goes on easy, it remains smooth (no clumping), and is pretty easyto get off. If you do put a lot on just be prepared that it will take a lot of effort to take it off. This mascara is meant to give you that ‘false’ look hence the name and it is thicker than others for that reason. If you put a small amount on lets say, for work purposes it’s very easy to get off but if you apply a lot to go out and party it will be very thick. Regardless, it does make your lashes look thick, dark, and beautiful for a classy look or that evening look. It lasts all day or night and is very versatile. Great product!

cg_eyeenhancers_3kit_eyeshadow_1

Eye Shadow

I am not as much of an eye shadow fan but I still use it and really like Cover Girl’s Eye Enhancers 3-Kit Shadows. I don’t wear eye shadow every day but for work I go for a more conservative look and use beiges and browns and when I go out at night I use mostly purple. I really like the versatility of this product because it’s designed to make your eye look go from day to night. The colors blend effortlessly based on the purpose. I don’t mix them a lot but when I want to quickly blend my look to go from work to happy hour or an evening out, I use them for that purpose. Otherwise I just use a single color out of the palette for every day wear. You can always mix it up!

Bronzer

1_12

One product that I cannot be without is bronzer. I have been searching for the perfect one for years and I finally found it a coupleyears ago. My favorite bronzer is Rimmel’s Natural Bronzer in ‘Sunlight’. It is the perfect shade to give me that extra glow without looking too dark where it would look unnatural. I have tried a lot of bronzers and they all looked too thick or very unnatural due to the color or just the way it was designed. This powder is very light, easy to apply, and not greasy. It’s the BEST! I really hope Rimmel doesn’t stop making it.

_7049007

Brush

_7064175

The one product that I will splurge on is a makeup brush. I think the brush is the ABSOLUTE key to makeup application and having it look good. I purchased a brush years ago at Nordstrom and it is in perfect shape. It’s important to clean brushes often so if you do that it should last you a long time as well. While you’re picking up a good, reasonable brush, make sure to pick up the cleaner as well so you’ll get a bang for your buck. Try this brush and cleaner by Vincent Longo.

Lipstick/Lip Gloss

P_Lips_Lipstick_ColorBurstLipButter3.ashx

I recently purchased Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter and am loving it. I not only love the colors that it comes in but I really love the texture and how soft it is, hence the name ‘lip butter’! I really dislike lipsticks and glosses that dry your lips out. I have now found the perfect lipstick! I really like the ‘candy apple’ color for Fall/Winter because as we all know, red is always in! I like to wear bright reds in the cold months to brighten up my mood. For other occasions I’ll wear darker reds or light plums/browns (depending on the scenario). For work I like to wear pale lip glosses or light but deep pink lipsticks. For lipgloss I like Maybelline ColorSensational High Shine Gloss. I have a couple of colors for different purposes. I have the ‘Almond Crush’ for work as it is very chic and not too bright and the ‘Mirrored Mauve’ when I want to brighten things up a little. I don’t like really sticky lip glosses but the Maybelline does just the trick.

Makeup Remover

Makeup remover is my every day necessity. Whether it’s a little for work or more to go out, I wear makeup every day. You know images-6those people who get home sometimes and don’t feel like taking their makeup off? That’s me! Guilty! But the truth is, it’s not good to not take your makeup off at night because it clogs your pores, isn’t good for your skin, and getting eye makeup in your eye is not fun! I have used a lot of removers but for one reason or another I wasn’t happy with anything. A lot of them burnt my eyes and some didn’t get the makeup off like they should. I found the perfect remover two years ago and will not use anything else. Since I only use the L’oreal Clean Artiste Waterproof & Long Wearing Eye Makeup Remover, I use the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes. They are easy on my skin and do the job of getting all that makeup off.

Lip Balm

Last but not least, everyone needs a fabulous lip balm to keep lips soft, especially during the cold winter months. I have tried over 50 lip balms over the years and couldn’t find the right one until now. What better than the ‘Evolution of Smooth‘? The scents aloneimg_sphere_sum are enough to make you buy the product. The lip balms come in an unusual round shape that makes it so easy to throw it in your bag and apply it wherever you are. It’s big enough that you can find it in a big purse too. I used to use Chapstick or Blistex but they didn’t smell great and they were so small that I would always misplace them or they would fall to the bottom of a bag. I got both the summer berry and the honeysuckle honeydew. They both smell amazing AND keep your lips really soft. If you need another reason to buy it, it’s 95% organic and 100& natural. Get it today to beat those winter months of chapped lips!

Leave a Reply

